The Royal Canadian Geographical Society
Making Canada better
known to Canadians
and to the world.

Publishers of Canadian Geographic Magazine Publishers of géographica


Camsell Medal

2010 Winners - Pierre Bergeron and Helen Kerfoot

From left to right: Pierre Bergeron, Society past president Gisèle Jacob and Helen Kerfoot (Photo: David Barbour)

In praise of volunteers

Pierre Bergeron and Helen Kerfoot, who have volunteered with The Royal Canadian Geographical Society for more than 15 years and who share a strong interest in Canadian Geographic, were honoured in November with the 2010 Camsell Medal for outstanding service.

A journalist and former book and newspaper publisher, Bergeron offers an invaluable perspective on the publishing industry as a member of the Canadian Geographic Enterprises (CGE) Management Board and the Society’s Finance and Audit committees. He was one of the first proponents of expanding CGE’s activities to include multimedia and the internet and advised on the publication of Géographica.

An Ottawa-based geographer with an unparalleled expertise in geographical names, Kerfoot has served on the Board of Governors and numerous committees. As a member of the Editorial Advisory Committee, she helped form Canadian Geographic’s policy regarding Canadian place names. She also reviews all the questions for the Geography Challenge and has acted as the official judge of its national final since 1998.

« 2009 Camsell Award Winners 2011 Camsell Award Winners »

Share this page

   Copyright © 2021 The Royal Canadian Geographical Society SITEMAP  |   CONTACT  |   PRIVACY POLICY  |   TERMS OF USE  |   FRANÇAIS