The Royal Canadian Geographical Society
Making Canada better
known to Canadians
and to the world.

Publishers of Canadian Geographic Magazine Publishers of géographica


Camsell Medal

2009 Winners - James Raffan and Ted Johnson

Camsell Medal recipients James Raffan (left, photo by Lloyd Binder) and Ted Johnson (right)

Dynamic duo

Click photo to enlarge

James Raffan receives the Camsell Medal from President Gisèle Jacob. (Photo: Amanda McNaughton)
Click photo to enlarge

Ted Johnson receives the Camsell Medal from Lynne McGuffin, granddaughter of RCGS founder Charles Camsell. (Photo: David Barbour)
James Raffan and Ted Johnson share a love of canoeing. In the summer of 1978, long before either started volunteering for The Royal Canadian Geographical Society, they met on a canoe trip that Raffan was guiding on the Coppermine River in the Arctic. More than 30 years later, they share the distinction of receiving the Society’s 2009 Camsell Medal for outstanding service.

A lawyer and senior vice-president of Power Corporation of Canada in Montréal, Johnson joined the Society’s Board of Governors in 1994. He contributed to as many as seven committees at once, including Audit, Finance and Expeditions. Johnson’s legal and financial expertise have been invaluable to the Society.

A passionate environmentalist and author based in Seeleys Bay, Ont., Raffan joined the Lectures Committee in 1994 and initiated ambitious speaking tours to reach more Society members. Raffan, who also served as a Governor, never misses an opportunity to promote the Society’s programs and publications during his frequent travels across the country.

— Monique Roy-Sole

« 2008 Camsell Award Winner 2010 Camsell Award Winners »

Share this page

   Copyright © 2021 The Royal Canadian Geographical Society SITEMAP  |   CONTACT  |   PRIVACY POLICY  |   TERMS OF USE  |   FRANÇAIS